Board of Directors

President: Marta Bringhurst, DO

Dr. Marta Bringhurst is an assistant professor of OMM at the Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine and serves as Year 1 OMM Course Director.  She received her medical degree from the Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences.  She completed her residency in Family Medicine at the Firelands Regional Medical Center in Sandusky, Ohio and a residency in Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine at the Cleveland Clinic South Pointe Hospital in Cleveland Ohio.  Dr. Bringhurst is the President and CEO of Girl Med Media, Inc. and has served on the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Osteopathy.  

Past President:  Robin King Thiele, DO 

Dr. King-Thiele is an Associate Dean for Postgraduate Affairs and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine and Hospice/Palliative Medicine at the Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine. Dr. King Thiele also serves as the Designated Institutional Official for Campbell University GME. 

She has dual board certification from AOBIM in Internal Medicine and Hospice/Palliative Medicine with 16 years of clinical experience that includes wound care, hyperbaric, hospice, hospitalist, outpatient, ER, and teaching.


 President-elect:  Eric Gish, DO

Dr. Gish joined the Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine family in June of 2017 as the Associate Dean for Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine. Additionally, he became the Program Director for the Osteopathic Neuromusculoskeletal Medicine Residency program in May 2019.

Dr. Gish is a graduate of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (UNTHSCFW-TCOM).  Following his residency and years in private practice, he helped to establish two osteopathic medical schools by serving as founding Chair of the Department of OMM at Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine (RVUCOM) as well as founding Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs at Liberty University College of Osteopathic Medicine (LUCOM). OMM) Integration and Associate Professor in the Department of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine. 

Secretary Treasurer:  Cecile Robes, DO

Dr. Robes is a family physician with Coastal Family Medicine in Wilmington and is the New Hanover Regional Medical Center Residency Osteopathic Program Director.  She is a graduate of the Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medical School.  She completed her residency at Tempe St. Luke’s Hospital in Tempe Arizona. 

Trustee:  Tiffany Lowe Payne, DO

Dr. Tiffany Lowe-Payne is a board certified family physician with over 14 years of experience. She is currently practicing at City Center Medical Group in Raleigh, N.C., part of WakeMed Physician Practices.  She is also an assistant clinical professor at the Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Buies Creek, N.C.

Dr. Lowe-Payne earned her medical degree and completed her residency in family medicine at the University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey School of Osteopathic Medicine (UMDNJ-SOM).  She  taught with the Department of Family Medicine at UMDNJ-SOM, and worked with Southern Jersey Family Medical Centers.   Additionally, Dr. Lowe-Payne has served as a clinical family practitioner at Duke Primary Care, a subsidiary of Duke University in North Carolina.  Dr. Lowe-Payne is a member of the American Osteopathic Association, American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians, and the NCS-ACOFP.

Trustee: Hunter Hansen, DO 

Trustee: Audrey Surak, DO  

 Trustee: David Tolentino, DO 

Dr. David Tolentino serves as associate dean for clinical affairs at CUSOM.  A graduate of Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio with a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry, he received a Doctor of Osteopathy from Ohio University College of Osteopathic Medicine in 2002.  Dr. Tolentino completed his Internal Medicine residency at St. John Medical Center in Westlake, Ohio where he served as Chief resident 2004-2005.

Dr. Tolentino is Board Certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Internal Medicine and was an Internal Medicine Attending Physician/Resident Service Attending at Westshore Primary Care Associates in Westlake, Ohio for eleven years.  He also served as Medical Director at The Belvedere of Westlake and Assisted Living and Rae-Ann Suburban Skilled Nursing & Rehabilitation and Medical Advisor for Westlake Village Assisted Living/Independent Living all in Westlake, Ohio.


Resident Representative:  Krista Anderson, DO

Dr. Anderson is a PGY-3 at the UNC Health Southeastern Residency Program in Lumberton. She is a 20200 graduate of Midwestern University Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine, and attended undergrad at Arizona State University. 

President Emeritus: Barbara Walker, DO

Barbara E. Walker, D.O. received her D.O. degree from the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific (COMP), completed her Residency in Family Medicine at Womack Army Community Hospital, completed a Faculty Development in Family Medicine Fellowship at University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and received a Doctor of Sciences Honoris Causa degree from Campbell University in 2011.

She retired from the United States Army as a full Colonel in 2006 after more than 25 years of service.  Dr. Walker was one of the three founding physician faculty at the Family Medicine Residency in Wilmington, North Carolina and later established this as an American Osteopathic Association approved program. She has served as President of the North Carolina Osteopathic Medical Association, a delegate to the House of Delegates of the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) for many years, and currently is serving on the AOA Board of Trustees and is the President-elect of the NC Medical Board.

Trustee - CUSOM Dean: Brian Kessler, DO 

Dr. Kessler became the 2nd dean of the Campbell University Jerry M. Wallace School of Osteopathic Medicine in May 2021.  He was associate dean of clinical affairs for the medical school in 2011, two years before it opened its doors to students in 2013, and has spent the past five years as the vice president, dean and chief academic officer for Lincoln Memorial University’s DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine in Tennessee. He is a graduate of the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine in Erie, Pennsylvania.  


Student Representative:  Britton Upchurch, OMS II

Student Doctor Upchurch is the Vice President of the CUSOM Chapter of SOMA (Student Osteopathic Medical Association).  


Executive Director:  Betsy Hilt 

Betsy brings more than 35 years of experience association management to her role with NCOMA. She has been working with Osteopathic Medical Association for five years. You can learn more about Betsy's experience here.